Hang in there – your ‘HAPPY’ is coming! Staying strong during the holidays.

The holidays can be a really hard time for people trying to have a baby or adopt.  I know – I went through it for 4 years.  My dream had always been to announce Chris and I were pregnant at Christmas by people unwrapping a picture of our ultrasound or an ornament saying something about Baby’s First Christmas with the following year on it.  I’d also had the dream of telling Chris on Christmas Eve somehow (not wrapping the pregnancy test though as that would just gross him out lol).  I was one of those people who thought we’d get pregnant on the first shot and I could plan every step of the way – wait, that’s not how it works?!

I knew adoption could happen fast but if you’d told me at Christmas last year that I would be a mom in less than 4 months, I’m not sure I would have believed it.  I know everything happens for a reason and a lot of time I think our journey happened the way it did to throw a curve ball at me and teach me you really can’t plan everything. This is our first Christmas with Jackson and looking back at last Christmas, I can’t believe all of this happened in less than 1 year!  We are so lucky and blessed to have the most beautiful, amazing 8-month old son.

Have you ever had those moments in your life where all of a sudden it dawns on you how lucky or happy you are?  I’ve been happy since the day Jackson came into our lives but it was in August when it really hit me.  On August 26th, 2013 I was sitting on the lawn of the Molson Amphitheatre (Toronto) listening to my favourite band Mumford & Sons perform my favourite song ‘I Will Wait’ and in that moment I knew life was perfect and I was the happiest I’d been in a long time. I Will Wait was my theme song when I needed a pick me up during the adoption wait.  I still smile and dance every time I hear it.

To those of you waiting, I hope 2014 is your year and that you have a special song to get you through the tough days!

Image

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

6 comments

  1. Your joy comes right through the computer screen. And don’t forget, amazing kids happen to amazing people. All the best to you and your hubby as you celebrate your first Xmas as Mummy & Daddy! (And hoping Santa Paws brings Marvin all his favourite treats, too!) xo

  2. Thank you for your post. Everything you wrote I can relate to. And yes Christmas is a difficult time with all the family gatherings and all the other newborns celebrating their first Christmases.
    I have yet to find a song to bring me hope during this waiting period. Maybe I’ll try this one.
    Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. Merry Christmas!! No one truly understands how difficult the holidays can be until they’ve been there. Enjoy this year with ur baby.
    And I totally am the same way, wanting to plan some big Christmas reveal announcing that we are pregnant. Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

